gouged

Lock ChangeThis heavily redacted document is what I received from the management of my apartment building last Friday, and I admit that it scared me a little bit.  You see, I lost my keys last week and so I had to borrow another set from the Maintenance Department, which is located in the Rental Office.

It bothers me because the tone is way so punitive, when the only reason that I hung on to them in the first place is that I needed to get into the apartment I have been renting for 14 years now.

I dropped back to the aforementioned rental office today, and learned that they would copy the keys for me–which is the first time that I am hearing this, by the way–for $5 a key.

For some reason I thought that keys, especially apartment keys, were three or four times more expensive than that.

Though something is rotten in the state of Denmark because the Maintenance Department also charges $75 for plastic entry cards.

And since the last place I worked for used similar cards (they come in lots of 100, and while I didn’t purchase them, I know that there’s no way on earth they cost $7500 a box; especially at the rate teachers lost or broke them) I know the management company must be making an absolutely obscene profit on each replacement card.

So, if they were willing to scalp renters for an entry card, why wouldn’t they do the same for keys?

I called my local hardware store, and learned that they charge only $2 per key.

I think that it goes without saying that I am going to head to the hardware store in a bit.

Leave a Reply

