a memorial day

Thomas Jefferson MemorialI took a trip around the tidal basin today, and while in my head my first stop was the Martin Luther King Memorial, me not quite knowing where the monuments were conspired to make the Thomas Jefferson Memorial my first stop.  It was nice, especially since I didn’t have a reason–other than checking out the monuments–to visit this section of Washington.

From the Jefferson Memorial you can see some sculpture across the Potomac, which I assumed was what I was looking for in the first place, so I started walking.  I then came to the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial, which was also a surprise.

And finally I came to the object of my quest, the Martin Luther King Memorial.  The statue is massive, and strikes a somewhat defiant tone (which I don’t have a problem with) besides being powerful and authorative.

Something to definitely attach your moral compass to.  Martin Luther King Memorial

All in all, despite the occasionally spotty weather, it was a nice way to spend a few hours.

And speaking of memorials, I really need to get some pictures from the Lincoln Memorial sometime.  I pass it during my weekly run, and I think that I am taking it for granted just a bit.

 

Leave a Reply

