lands’ end blues

Torn

The tear in Golden boy; above the tear is a prior repair attempt.

The image to the left is a Lands’ End waffle henley, one of my favorite shirts.  It’s a little worse for wear, having a tear on the upper shoulder, and rips along the cuffs on both the left and right sleeve.

But I love this shirt.  It’s my Golden Boy.

Lands’ End has a return policy which says, “If you’re not satisfied with any item, simply return it to us at any time (boldface mine) for an exchange or refund of its purchase price.”

Now, I know that that doesn’t mean that I can return a shirt that I have stuffed into a shredder, but then again, if I am able to return my very own Golden Boy – which I love – I would really appreciate it.

So why don’t I buy another?  I could, but that would mean that I would be throwing away Golden Boy, and if I were able to do so, I would have months ago.

But I haven’t, and I am not sure that I can bring myself to do so.  I normally don’t get too attached to clothing, but this shirt fit me so well – and still is quite comfortable – that I cannot bring myself to throw it away.

So, not wanting to wear it till it drops from my body in tatters, I am going to investigate if I can return Golden Boy to the Matrix that begat him, which I will look further into tomorrow because seeing him in such a ragged state almost hurts.

I haven’t looked further into it, though I will probably tomorrow because I can’t keep looking at my once awesome shirt in such a ragged state.

Leave a Reply

