raptor

When I first saw the bird, I assumed that it was some type of hawk.  That is, till I saw how tall it was.  I got to within four to six feet of this animal, and it had to at least have been 12 inches tall, if not more.

That’s pretty big for a hawk, not so big for an eagle.

I came upon it after it had downed a pigeon.  I knew this not because there were any pigeon remains about–there were too few to tell what it was–but there were fine, downy feathers all over the place, as you can see from the picture.

What also surprised me was how comfortable he was in a very urban environment.  There were some woods nearby, but they were somewhat meager.

Leave a Reply

