in the (what the heck is in This Stuff, and why am i eating it if i can barely pronounce it) department

What am I describing? The ingredients of this mystery ‘food’ are: Sorbitol, Maltitol, Gum Base, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Acacia, Less Than 2% of Glycerol, Soy Lecithin, Aspartame, Color (Titanium Dioxide), Acesulfame-K, Carnauba Wax, GHT (To Maintain Freshness) and Phenylketonurics: contains Phenylalanine.

You may be shocked to realize the almost indecipherable list of ingredients above make up common chewing gum, something that many of us enjoy without thinking about what goes into it.

I don’t know what all of those chemicals do–though some, like Soy Lecithin, Carnauba Wax and Aspartame (which some say is toxic and is linked to numerous ailments) I am familiar with–but since I can’t make out the rest without a dictionary and the Internet, I think that I’ll pass on the gum.

Addendum: I was wondering if I should mention the brand of gum that the list of ingredients above make up. For awhile I was on the fence, till I figured that if they, in this case the WM. Wrigley Jr. Company, isn’t afraid of putting this cornucopia of pharmaceutical fascination in their gum (Eclipse peppermint gum) then they shouldn’t be worried about people knowing information that is no farther way than their noses.

And for some reason suspect that they aren’t.

2 thoughts on “in the (what the heck is in This Stuff, and why am i eating it if i can barely pronounce it) department

Leave a Reply

