agnostically speaking

I don’t like to think of myself as an atheist because that implies a knowledge, an arrogance, that I don’t have.  It’s in its own way as dangerous a belief system as any religious system because it too deals with absolutes.

An agnostic, in a way, seeks a middle ground.  An agnosticism is defined as: a person who believes that nothing is known or can be known of the existence or nature of God or of anything beyond material phenomena; a person who claims neither faith nor disbelief in God, would be closer to the truth.

I mean, by way of example,that I am comforted by the notion that there are people that believe that entities like Bigfoot, aliens, or the Abominable Snowman exist, but I haven’t seen any definitive evidence that that is the case.

So, I don’t go quite as far as to say that they don’t exist because I haven’t seen an evidence that proves it, though I think that it’s telling that virtually no one one else has either.  Under such circumstances I may not be able to definitively say that such entities don’t exist; but I can say–based upon the lack of verifiable physical evidence–that it’s very likely that they don’t.

So I am skeptical till evidence somehow makes itself known.

Though I am partial to Nessie, the Loch Ness Monster.  It plays an important part in my personal mythology, so I really wish that it exists, though there is the irritating lack of evidence.

Besides, I can’t give up all my myths. They have defined my childhood, and while their role in my adult life has lessened, I still hold on to a few.

Leave a Reply

